Project Cosmo

My Amithlon Adventure (part 1)

My dumb self decided I needed a challenging project for the weekends: Making an Amithlon box.

For the confused among the crowd: Amithlon was an officially released version of AmigaOS (or marketed as a compatibility layer?) that ran on regular computers. Hardware compatibility sucks, but it's fast as heck if you can get it running! It's QNX with an Amiga emulator stapled in the boot process. But this Amiga emulator has access to a REAL hard drive (not a stupid HDF) and other real parts of the computer.

I'll be following this awesome guide by Snkbitten on this journey.

I want getting it to run on a dedicated PC made from some scrap parts laying around and I have installed everything already, I just have to sort out a Graphics Card. Good thing I already have a good Sound Blaster 128 PCI ready to go! Although I'm a bit worried the mobo is a bit too new for this, it's one of those quite-rare "modern" (2007-ish I think) Asus boards with a lot of legacy IO.

In the meanwhile I got Amithlon running buttery smooth on an old Toshiba laptop. Like a really old one, exact year I don't know, but it originally had Windows XP, I can tell you that though.