Project Cosmo

The Bluesky Experience

Alright, I hopped on the Bluesky boat, and here's what went down.

The beginning

I made an account on the main Bluesky instance from the official mobile app. Nothing wrong there, and here I am!

Not before long, someone started following me (despite me not having posted anything, or even had a pfp or description)

I set a pfp, banner and description (all I had on my phone was some TF2 memes) and went on the Discover page.

The issues

Issue 1: Hide this please!

Ok, so this is a brand new account, the app doesn't know what I like, so let's do like it said. I have some posts here about the K-Pop band BTS that I don't personally follow, so I'll click on "Show less of this". The post doesn't disappear, but does after a refresh of the page. But uhh, that made no difference. After multiple refreshes, the stuff I said I didn't want were still there. Annoying.

Issue 2: I don't want NSFW content, thank you very much.

On the Discover page I was absolutely bombarded with not completely NSFW but still disgusting posts that I didn't want. I had to manually mute those accounts sadly, makes me think the goddamn "Show less of this" button is a placebo.

Issue 3: The PC and the Phone are different

This is a weird one. On my phone there's all the stuff I asked to NOT see, but on my PC it's perfect. All the stuff I want to see is on the PC, but the feed on my phone is COMPLETELY different. Like WTF??

Bluesky is not going great with me, but if I use it longer it'll fix itself (the algorithm can't read my mind after all!).

See y'all next time!