Project Cosmo

Weather Station Hacking (part 1)

This isn't the first blog post with the same subject - nor it will be the last.

A while ago (maybe even last year, can't remember) I got a Auriol Weather station from Lidl, and to be honest I don't even check often.

A couple of days ago I wondered if there was some way to decode the RF signal using my SDR, and at first I was looking at some pretty complicated programs that I had no idea how to use them, but then I stumbled upon rtl_433.

Upon launching rtl_433 it immediately started decoding the signal, without even configuring it! Sweet!

But having some barebones terminal output wasn't enough for me, I wanted MORE! What about some HTTP server that could show me the data collected and even maybe make a nice graph out of it!

Part 2 coming soon!